German Institutes

RWTH Aachen


Institute for Theoretical Physics of Phase Transitions

Main Area of Research: Statistical Physics
E-Mail Prof. Dr. Volker Dohm
Research Area
Theory of phase transitions; field theoretical renormalization group; phase transitions in confined geometries; critical dynamics; critical phenomena under microgravity conditions; superfluid phase transition of Helium
E-Mail Prof. Dr. Walter Selke
Research area
Simulations of many-particle-systems; structure and dynamics of interfaces and surfaces; superstructures and dilution in magnets; classical and quantum anisotropic Heisenberg antiferromagnets
ScientistsDMRG method; quantum Monte Carlo simulations; exact diagonalization; DMFT; pnictides; Mott transiton; Potts models; interfacial adsorption
Retired Professors:
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Friedrich Schlögl (em.) Statistical Physics; nonlinear dynamics
E-Mail Prof. Dr. Arne Stahl (i. R.) Statistical Physics; theoretical solid-state physics
Contact (Secretary's Office)
Institut für Theoretische Physik
Mrs G. Conin
RWTH Aachen
52056 Aachen
Telefon: +49-(0)241-80-27020
Fax: +49 241-80-22188
E-Mail last modified: 09 Jun 2010 Disclaimer RWTH Aachen